“Kill Your Little Darlings”

And to find out why, read On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King, if you haven’t already.  And I can’t imagine what writer or aspiring writer or Stephen King fan hasn’t already.  The 10th Anniversary edition came out in 2010.  I read it for the first time in maybe 2000 or 2001, but I know it was the hardcover edition, which I still own and refuse to give up (Kindle be damned!).  I thought about this as I was editiing the neverending story, because as I go through and chop unnecessary chunks from the piece, sometimes I wince at having to get rid or words that at first seemed so pertinent and beautiful to me.

I also harped about this on my old blog.

But, the master says, if you want to present good writing, if you want the real stuff to stand out, you have to cut the fluff, thus, “kill your little darlings.”  Yes, it can be like severing an arm, giving up a child…yes, I’m exaggerating, but you know what I’m getting at…

Anyway, that’s where I am today, getting rid of all that so that the actual story shines through.  And, oh yeah, I will never, ever stop recommending this book:

Leave a Reply

