Bio Means Necessary

It’s become second nature to me now, tacking on that old 50-word or less bio to my work when submitting it in hopes for publication.  You know what I’m talking about, that nifty little paragraph where you hype yourself up, tell the world what you’re about, what you write, where it’s been published and blah, blah, blah.

I can remember a time when I was horrified to learn I had to actually send one with a submission.  It was my first submission after all.  How was I to already have a bio, when here I was trying to build one?  I found myself searching for the words, embarassed by the fact that I had to toss in my college literary mag credits because it was about all I had under my belt.

I knew I could write, but what did I have to show for it besides a few measly credits? Would anyone publish an amateure erotica writer with a two line bio?

I flashed back to this the other night when I received an email requesting my updated bio for a new publisher I’m working with.  They wanted it for their website if I didn’t mind.  Did I mind?  Did I mind?

I’m relieved and happy to say that I now have bios on deck.  I have bios on top of bios.  Fifty word bios, thirty-five word bios.  This particular publisher gave me up to one-hundred and fifty words to use if I wanted, and I had that too, because, somehow, way back when, I sucked it up and had the courage to send that first submission with that measly two-line bio until I made it what it is.

Leave a Reply

