Am I Kinky?

It’s something I never actually considered before when reflecting on the subject matter of my work. Admittedly, the bulk of it reflects the real me: traditional, vanilla, submissive – well, sorta… A little – ok I’m working on that part – but almost absolutely not kinky. I don’t enjoy more than a slight smack on the ass and I have no desire whatsoever to be tied anywhere, to anything. Call that the control freak in me, but still.

But as I was browsing the net and having more Google fun I saw that the bulk of the stories of mine that receive praise and/or get highlighted in reviews are the kinky ones, especially spanking.

This is funny to me because it took sometime for me to come out of my shell in the way of writing erotica. It took me a while to move my characters out of the bed, out of the bedroom, let them use stuff other than own bodies to give and receive pleasure. And it was a bit uncomfortable for me. So uncomfortable in fact that I tended to throw in an element of humor in the story to lighten it up a bit. At the time I didn’t consider that if someone were reading about BDSM and enjoying it, then maybe I didn’t need to lighten it up.

So, I began writing these stories with more confidence, began implementing tools and scenes as if I KNEW what I was talking about, as if I, myself had been there, done that. And maybe it works.

But as I lay in bed this Saturday morning working on a story of sex so intense that mirrors are broken and vajay-jay’s are sore, I’m wondering… Is this my forte? Am I ignoring my niche by attempting to stay on the safer side of sex?

Or…

Am I simply denying the obvious? Am I kinky?

Leave a Reply

