I Love "Girls"

Glamour Girls: Femme/Femme Erotica, that is. I retrieved my contributor’s copy yesterday when I scooted by the old house to pick up mail. It was a pretty thick package leading me to believe there were two books, but in addition to the one, there was lots of cool promotional stuff.

It’s the best contributor’s package I’ve ever gotten, I’ll tell you. It has a little note pad, a pen, press releases and best of all, ten reprints of my story, each with their very own front and back covers! I’ve never seen anything like it. I can’t wait to pass them on to friends. And if you’re a far away friend, please do send me your address so that I can mail you your copy.

But once I flipped through the book to my story, I found something that mortified me. I used the phrase “pearl-kissed” twice in one paragraph… in two sentences back to back, as a matter of fact. Oh my gosh, I feel like hiding in shame. There’s nothing worse than finding typos or something like that after your story is already in print. I wanted to break out my red pen right then and there.

I also got my copy of Amazons: Sexy Tales Of Strong Women. I flipped through that and found many run on sentences and stuff that just could have been worded better. I guess writers really are blind to their own work. See, that’s why it’s good to put time and space between yourself and the piece before turning it in.

Well, I guess I’d better get ready for tomorrow. I shouldn’t even be up blogging. I should be in bed resting for the big day tomorrow… It’s My Birthday!!!!

Yeah, whatever. I’ll talk more about turning 29, becoming a newly single mom of two and being in the worst financial shape of my miserable life tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

