Enough

I remember watching an episode of Oprah a while ago and there was a woman on there who had gone through something very traumatic – please note that I’m not trying to downplay or generalize this woman’s situation, I’m just cutting to the chase – anyway, she told Oprah that she allows herself five minutes a day to cry, scream, feel sorry for herself, whatever. After that, it’s over. It’s time to suck it up and move on.

I’m thinking, actually I know, I nned to apply that concept to my writing. I was on a roll at the beginning of the year, writing and selling one after the other. But then, something traumatic happened andI was, of course, too busy, too stressed, too damned depressed to write anything.

Well, it ends here. I realized it as I found myself apologizing and explaining things to someone I’m working with on a project when I hadn’t done things that needed to be done and now a promising project may suffer because of it.

She was/is very understanding about it, but that’s beside the point. She shouldn’t have to be understanding or make exceptions for me. I’m a professional and I’m supposed to have my shit together, or at least be able to give the illusion that I have it together while I’m barely hanging on in reality. So, with my 24+ free hours this weekend I’m going to go through my submission calls folder, check the deadlines and get cracking on some writing becuase I’m a writer and that’s what we do.

**Remind me that I wrote this next week, when I’m back to slacking off.**

Leave a Reply

