This Year, This Blog

I had been holding off on my final post for the year as, depending at which point during the day I had posted, it could have been either upbeat and happy or just damned depressing.

I’m looking forward to 2006, I am. I know that good things are ahead but every few hours or so today, I got pretty weepy, reflecting on this year’s regrets and disappointments, wondering if next year is just going to be 2005, The Sequel.

I don’t want it to be. All I keep thinking to myself is I don’t want to be doing next year what I’m doing right now. Then I thought about what I was doing last year. I had stopped posting to this blog in October, had stopped writing altogether for nearly six months. But this year I’m here and though the writing isn’t where I want it to be, I’m in a better place than I was last year this time.

Yes, this year there were some disappointments… stories weren’t written, deadlines didn’t get made, writing was rejected. But some really great things happened as well, I sold a story to a mainstream marketed anthology. I sold my first piece of literary fiction. I got an exciting offer for one of stories to be turned into a short film, I started my second novel, and the most recent of exciting things… I now have my own website.

So, what am I weeping about? It was a good year, wasn’t it? And for the times that weren’t so great… wipe the slate clean, eh?

Leave a Reply

