Another Sleepless Night In Paradise

I always need to wind down after coming in from my second job. I hadn’t had any dinner, so I planted myself in front of the television with a Slim Jim, a cupcake and a small can of Pringles. I found an episode of Survivor: Marquesas on OLN and watched about forty minutes of it before my eyes finally began to get heavy. I thought I’d be able to enjoy my second consecutive night of uninterrupted sleep when it started.

1:30 – I’m awake, daughter is whining in her sleep. After a few minutes, she quiets.

2:00 – I’m awake. I don’t know why… maybe husband started coughing.

3:00 – I’m awake for no particular reason. I just can’t sleep.

4:00 – Everyone’s awake. Kids plow down the hall all bright eyed and bushy tailed, as if the sun is up already. They climb into bed on either side of me, but son, my little mama’s boy, wants mommy all to himself so he and I hit the couch.

4:10 -He doesn’t want to lie down yet. He wants something from the cabinet – cookies. I say no. He points to the counter; he wants a cupcake, I say no. We compromise with a cup of milk.

4:20 – He can’t get comfortable. He can’t decide if he wants to lie with his head on my chest, with his cheek pressed against mine or with his head on the pillow. I fall asleep before he decides.

7:10 – Husband comes to wake us… time to get up and do it all over again

I really don’t know what I’m going to do with him. While I love that my son loves his mommy so much, I fear that I’ve ruined him for all women and will never be able to marry him off. He’ll be forty and still living with me. Not good.

Now I feel like I need a pair of toothpicks to prop my eyelids open.

Leave a Reply

