Onward

Once again, I find myself anxious to be done with the weekend. I don’t know what it is about weekends these days that make me feel imprisoned, chained to the sofa and the television until all I want is for it to be Monday again, so I can at least have an excuse to be in another room in the house for eight hours.

I’m beginning to feel a little pathetic and I don’t like it one bit.

I didn’t mention yesterday that I spent Friday night out with my friend K. Whenever I need a laugh or a breather or a drink, she never disappoints. Of course, it all resulted in my once again dragging myself in at four in the morning, but it was worth it just to be able to push pause on everything else and sit and laugh for a while.

It took the rest of the weekend for me to recover. I took a two and a half hour nap on the couch today and had the best sleep I’ve had in weeks. I drifted off like I was nestled in a pair of strong arms… as if a quiet voice were whispering me a lullaby. It was lovely.

I took a little joyride this evening, took the opportunity to turn the music up obnoxiously loud and just drive. Lucky for folks driving along side me it was only something harmless like Stevie Wonder’s Send One Your Love and Norman Connor’s You Are My Starship but it was nice in the dark and tonight there’s a full moon. The little things, you know?

Leave a Reply

