Writing Through It

It’s been a circus. Really, have some popcorn and watch the writer frantically spin out ten handwritten pages on a novel while she and her family are (quite literally) knee deep in… well, you know.

I hadn’t anticipated having the time to write yesterday, and even if I did I was sure my frustration at the pipes still not being fixed would block my creativity. But last evening I found myself picking up a notebook and becoming suddenly reacquainted with The Way Out. It’s the novel I’ve done the most work on, feel most familiar with and closest to and before I knew it, I had written several pages of plot, dialogue and character background and it felt great. It was after ten when I could put the pen down long enough o get to the PC and after forty-five minutes of reopening the files, making some changes to the outline, the husband had to actually make me come to bed. I haven’t had one of these writing moments in a long time. I sure hope it stays.

And on a whim, I submitted Mount Everest to an online publication after rave reviews from a writer friend of mine. This is one of my first and favorite stories, but is also one of the unlucky ones that has yet to find a permanent home. It temporarily resided at the webzine Candy Apple which is now defunct. I’m forever tweaking and reevaluating the piece to make sure it’s the best it can be and it has come a long way over the years. Maybe this venue will be a good fit.

And today, I’m still scribbling on the novel in my notebook in between work and play, hoping for another good writing day.

I was able to catch the tail end of Katie Couric interviewing Terry McMillan but apparently they were still on the subject of the divorce so I don’t think I missed much. I do think it’s a shame that the woman’s sixth novel just came out and she has to spend her promotion time entertaining discussion of her personal life, scandalous as it is at the moment. Sad thing is, he’ll be the one that ends up with the million dollar book deal. Hey, I’m human. I love my gossip just as much as the next person.

Leave a Reply

